About this place
This place is home to the remains of an original lime kiln that was part of the Western Australian Portland Cement Company’s lime project that operated between 1919 and 1923.
The lime kiln is one of the only remaining structures from the former townsite of Lake Clifton, which was developed as a company town by the WA Portland Cement Company in 1920.
About 100m into the walk is the talking circle. A small clearing flanked with wooden seating and six stunning artworks that represent the six Noongar seasons by local artists Gloria and Karrie-Anne Kearing.
There are no toilets.
Plants, wildlife and fungi
Visit the Atlas of Living Australia for a list of species recorded within a 5km radius of Lime Kiln Picnic Area .
We recognise and acknowledge Pinjarup people as the traditional owners of Yalgorup National Park.